Crown Gas & Power trades through Crown Gas and Power Limited and Crown Oil Limited, based in Bury, Greater Manchester. It says it has supplied gas to UK businesses since 2001, and it now sells electricity too. Its SME contracts cover businesses using up to 500,000 kWh a year, with bespoke quotes above that. Yu Energy (styled Yü Energy) is the supply arm of Nottingham-based Yü Group plc, which is listed on the AIM market of the London Stock Exchange. It supplies electricity, gas and water. Its SME plans also cover up to 500,000 kWh a year, with separate half-hourly and pass-through plans for larger sites.
TLDR: Crown is the stronger choice for most businesses using up to 500,000 kWh a year. It has the superior customer service ratings, a fully renewable reported fuel mix and out-of-contract rates that were far lower on the sheets we checked. Yu is worth a quote if you want gas, electricity and water on one contract or run several sites.
This business energy comparison looks at tariffs, contract length, pricing structure, renewable credentials, customer service, smart tech and fees. We looked into both suppliers' own product pages, rate sheets and fuel mix disclosures, plus Trustpilot and the latest Citizens Advice non-domestic supplier table.
Crown vs Yu at a Glance
Feature | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Business Size Focus | SMEs using up to 500,000 kWh a year, bespoke quotes above that | SMEs using up to 500,000 kWh a year, plus half-hourly and pass-through plans for larger sites |
Parent Company | Crown Gas and Power Limited and Crown Oil Limited | Yü Group plc, listed on AIM |
Gas Supply | Yes | Yes |
Electricity Supply | Yes | Yes |
Water Supply | No retail supply found; water connections only | Yes |
How You Buy | Quote form, then an account manager finalises the contract, or via a broker | Instant online quote for smaller electricity users, or sales team, or via a broker |
Fixed Contracts | 12 to 60 months | 1 to 3 years, bespoke terms for larger sites |
Prepayment | Not published | Yes, Pre-Pay for non-half-hourly prepayment meters |
Flexible/No Fixed Term Option | No flexible product published, out-of-contract rates apply after a fixed term | Yes, Freedom plan |
Supplier-Wide Renewable Share | 100.0% (April 2025 to March 2026) | 15.6% (April 2024 to March 2025) |
Renewable Electricity Product | REGO-backed renewable contracts, described as optional on its SME page | Pure Green add-on on fixed plans, REGO-backed |
Green Gas | Yes, Bio10, Bio25, Bio50 and Bio100 biomethane | Carbon-neutral gas, based on offsetting |
Smart Meter | AMR installation arranged through the welcome pack | Free SMETS2 installation on many plans, £120 (inc VAT) monthly charge if not booked within 21 days |
Half-Hourly (HH) Meter Support | Yes, YouFix covers half-hourly and non-half-hourly meters | Yes, Half-Hourly Fix and Pass-Through plans |
Exit Fees | No fixed formula found | £420 (inc VAT) Micro Termination Fee on fixed plans, none on Freedom |
Trustpilot | 4.9 out of 5 from 226 reviews, September 2026 | 3.7 out of 5 from 7,485 reviews, September 2026 |
Citizens Advice Non-Domestic Ranking | 1st of 16 (April to June 2026) | 10th of 16 (April to June 2026) |
Which Supplier Offers Better Tariffs?
Neither Crown nor Yu publishes a fixed rate card for new business contracts, because pricing depends on:
Business location
Annual consumption
Industry type
Meter type
Contract length
Credit profile
Regional distribution charges
Crown keeps its range simple: fixed contracts, optional renewable electricity and biomethane gas blends. Yu has more product types, including prepayment, multi-fuel, multi-site, half-hourly and pass-through plans, and it adds water.
Is Crown the Greener Supplier?
Many business owners assume a supplier's headline green claim covers the whole business. We found the published numbers are more complicated, and they point in Crown's favour with some caveats.
Crown's fuel mix disclosure for April 2025 to March 2026 reports 100% renewable electricity, all from wind. The UK average for the same period was 48%. Yu's latest disclosure on its site covers April 2024 to March 2025. It reports 15.6% renewable overall and just 0.3% for its standard, non-green products. Yu's Pure Green plans are reported as 100% renewable.
It's worth noting that the two sets of figures cover different years, and Yu's 2025/26 disclosure wasn't on its site when we checked. Under fuel mix disclosure rules, a 100% renewable figure usually means the supplier allocated renewable certificates to all of its supplied electricity. Crown's SME electricity page still describes REGO-backed renewable contracts as an option, and says its renewable electricity comes from UK wind, solar and hydro. Its disclosure lists wind only. If the technology matters for your sustainability reporting, ask Crown to confirm in writing what backs your contract.
Gas works differently. Neither supplier's standard gas is green. Crown offers biomethane blends, while Yu's carbon-neutral gas relies on offsetting. Our renewable business energy guide covers how these claims differ.
Crown Tariffs
YouFix
Crown's fixed price plan for electricity, available for both half-hourly and non-half-hourly meters. Crown also offers fixed gas contracts of variable length, with SME contracts for up to 500,000 kWh a year.
Best for:
Businesses that want budget certainty from a single fixed plan
SMEs and larger sites that would rather agree a term of up to 5 years than choose from a long product list
Renewable Electricity
REGO-backed electricity, aimed at businesses that want a certificate to show customers or investors. Crown says you receive a REGO certificate to evidence your renewable supply.
Best for:
Businesses reporting Scope 2 emissions
Owners who want renewable electricity without changing supplier
Biomethane
A graduated range of green gas. Bio100 is 100% biomethane. Bio50, Bio25 and Bio10 blend biomethane with natural gas, with the natural gas emissions offset through Gold Standard or Verified Carbon Standard schemes. Crown says biomethane carries a premium, and that supply in the UK is limited, so the blends exist to fit different budgets. It aims to send certificates within three weeks of a contract going live.
Best for:
Gas-heavy businesses such as restaurants, bakeries and manufacturers
Businesses that want to cut Scope 1 emissions in steps rather than all at once
Multi-Site and Multi-Meter Supply
Crown says it can supply businesses running multiple sites, with one team handling the contract.
Best for:
Small chains and landlords with several meters
Yu Tariffs
Fix
Yu's core plan for smaller businesses, with fixed unit rates and standing charges over 1, 2 or 3 years for non-half-hourly meters. Micro businesses using up to 50,000 kWh of electricity a year can get an instant online quote.
Best for:
Smaller electricity users who want a quote in minutes
Businesses that want a fixed price for up to 3 years
Multi-Site Fix
The same electricity rate across all of a business's non-half-hourly sites.
Best for:
Retail and hospitality chains that want one rate across locations
Multi-Fuel Fix
A discount when you switch two or more utilities to Yu at the same time, such as electricity and gas or electricity and water.
Best for:
Businesses that want one supplier and one contact for several utilities
Pre-Pay
For sites with a conventional non-half-hourly prepayment meter.
Best for:
Businesses that prefer to pay as they go
Freedom
A rolling plan with no fixed end date. Prices are fixed but reviewed periodically, and it's where you land if a fixed contract ends without a renewal.
Best for:
Businesses between contracts that accept a higher price in return for flexibility
Half-Hourly Fix and Pass-Through Plans
Half-Hourly Fix has fixed day and night unit rates for half-hourly meters. Yu's three Pass-Through plans are for sites using more than 500,000 kWh a year, where the energy cost is fixed, and some non-energy costs move with actual market cost.
Best for:
Manufacturers and large multi-site users with an energy buyer
Pure Green and Carbon-Neutral Gas
Pure Green is an optional add-on for fixed electricity plans, backed by REGOs. Carbon-neutral gas is natural gas with emissions offset through Verra's Verified Carbon Standard.
Best for:
Businesses that want a green electricity option on a fixed contract
Tariff Comparison Table
Tariff Type | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Fixed Rate | Yes, 12 to 60 months | Yes, 1 to 3 years |
Flexible/Out-of-Contract Rate | Out-of-contract rates only | Freedom plan |
Prepayment | Not published | Yes, Pre-Pay |
Half-Hourly Meter Tariffs | Yes | Yes, Half-Hourly Fix |
Renewable Electricity | REGO-backed contracts | Pure Green add-on |
Green Gas | Bio10 to Bio100 biomethane | Carbon-neutral gas (offset) |
Multi-Site Contracts | Yes | Yes, Multi-Site Fix |
Multi-Utility Discount | Not published | Yes, Multi-Fuel Fix |
Water | Connections only | Yes |
Large Business Products | Bespoke above 500,000 kWh | Pass-Through plans above 500,000 kWh |
Winner: Yu for breadth of products, particularly if you want water, prepay or a pass-through plan. Crown wins if you want a fixed term of up to 5 years or a graduated route to greener gas.
How Do Contract Lengths Compare?
Crown Contract Terms
Contract Type | Typical Length |
|---|---|
Fixed Contracts (YouFix and gas) | 12 to 60 months |
Renewable Electricity | Fixed term, as quoted |
Biomethane Products | Fixed term, as quoted |
Out-of-Contract Rates | No fixed term, rates reset monthly |
Deemed Rates | No fixed term |
Yu Contract Terms
Contract Type | Typical Length |
|---|---|
Fix, Multi-Site Fix, Multi-Fuel Fix | 1, 2 or 3 years |
Pure Green Add-On | 12, 24 or 36 months |
Freedom | No fixed end date, 30 days' notice per its tariff pages |
Half-Hourly and Pass-Through | Bespoke for larger sites |
Extended Supply Period | 12 months, for non-micro businesses that miss the notice window |
Contract Length Scorecard
Factor | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Short-Term Flexibility | Limited, no flexible product published | Good, Freedom plan |
Long-Term Fixed Procurement | Very good, up to 60 months | Good, up to 3 years |
What Happens at Contract End | Out-of-contract rates until you sign or switch | Micro businesses move to Freedom; non-micro businesses can move to a 12-month Extended Supply Period |
Early Exit | No published formula found | £420 (inc VAT) Micro Termination Fee, ask for the non-micro figure in writing |
What Do Default Rates Look Like?
This is where the two suppliers differ most sharply. Both publish default rates, and the gap is large.
Rate | Crown Out of Contract | Yu Freedom |
|---|---|---|
Non-Half-Hourly Electricity Unit Rate | 37.63p to 41.03p per kWh, by region | 63.98p per kWh |
Electricity Standing Charge | Site specific | 480p per day |
Gas Unit Rate | 9.826p to 10.253p per kWh, by consumption band | 19.88p per kWh (under 732,000 kWh a year) |
Gas Standing Charge | Site specific | 750p per day |
VAT and Climate Change Levy | Excluded | Not stated on the rate sheet |
Yu's Freedom electricity unit rate was about 56% to 70% higher than Crown's non-half-hourly range, and its gas unit rate was nearly double. The two sheets cover different months, and Yu's doesn't say whether VAT is included, so treat the gap as a warning about default rates rather than a like-for-like price comparison.
Crown's default rates also move. Its band 1 gas unit rate rose from 9.130p per kWh in August 2026 to 10.253p in September, about 12% in a month. In our experience, the end-of-contract position is where owners lose the most money with any supplier, so put your end date in the diary at least 90 days ahead, whichever one you choose.
If you're a micro business, Ofgem's rules mean your supplier can't require notice to leave at the end of your contract, and must send renewal terms at least 60 days before it ends. Yu's rules for larger businesses are stricter, as our Yu Energy review explains.
Crown vs Yu Pricing Structure
Business energy quotes typically include:
Unit Rate
The price charged for each kWh you use. Yu offers instant online quotes to smaller electricity users. Crown asks you to complete a quote form, and an account manager then finalises the contract.
Standing Charge
The daily fee covering network connection and administration. This is where Yu's pricing needs care. In our January 2026 price data, Yu's average quoted electricity unit rate of 23.9p was among the lowest we tracked, but its average standing charge of 342.7p a day was the highest. Crown isn't in that dataset, so we can't give a like-for-like average. Its published default rates show a site-specific standing charge that includes an administration charge, and Crown reserves the right to review it if its operating costs rise. Our average business energy prices guide shows the wider market.
Pass-Through Charges
May include:
Network costs, as explained in our guide to pass-through vs fully fixed energy contracts
Balancing charges
Government levies
Yu has added a Transmission Network Use of System (TNUoS) uplift to electricity standing charges from April 2026, including on some fixed contracts. For either supplier, the question to ask is whether regulated network charges are fixed for the whole term of your quote.
Broker Commission
If you buy through a broker, ask what commission is built into your rates. Crown's FAQs explain that it may pay brokers through an uplift on the unit rate or standing charge. Ofgem's microbusiness rules require the principal terms to show any brokerage costs.
Advance Payments and Credit Checks
Neither supplier publishes a standard deposit requirement in the pages we reviewed. Both run credit checks, so ask about any deposit at quote stage and get it in writing.
VAT
Crown's default rate sheets exclude VAT and the Climate Change Levy. Yu's Freedom sheet doesn't say. Most businesses pay 20% VAT on energy, but those using under 33 kWh of electricity or 145 kWh of gas a day can qualify for the reduced 5% rate with a declaration.
Pricing Transparency Comparison
Area | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Online Quote | Quote form, then account manager contact | Instant for smaller electricity users |
Fixed Rate Card | No | No |
Default Rates Published | Yes, updated monthly | Yes, Freedom rate schedule |
Sold Through Brokers | Yes | Yes |
Winner: Yu, narrowly, for its instant online quote. When we speak to business owners, the pricing surprise is rarely the headline unit rate. It's usually a standing charge or a default rate they didn't check, so compare the total annual cost from at least three quotes.
Which Supplier Has Better Renewable Energy Credentials?
Crown Sustainability Initiatives
Offers:
REGO-backed renewable electricity, with a REGO certificate you can show customers
Bio10, Bio25, Bio50 and Bio100 biomethane, traded as Renewable Gas Guarantees of Origin
Operational carbon neutral status under PAS 2060 verification, according to Crown's own news post from December 2024
ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 accreditation logos on its website
Pros
100% renewable electricity reported in its 2025/26 fuel mix disclosure
One of the few suppliers with a graduated biomethane range
Certificates for biomethane supply, which Crown aims to issue within three weeks of going live
Cons
Biomethane carries a premium and limited UK supply, as Crown itself says
Its SME page presents renewable electricity as an option while its disclosure reports 100% renewable, so ask which applies to your contract
Green gas options apply to gas only
Yu Sustainability Initiatives
Offers:
Pure Green add-on on fixed electricity plans over 12, 24 or 36 months
Carbon-neutral gas, offset through Verra's Verified Carbon Standard
EV charge point installation for business sites
Pros
Pure Green can be added to any fixed electricity plan
Yu says Pure Green lets you report zero carbon emissions for your electricity use
Cons
Standard products were 0.3% renewable in 2024/25, so green supply depends on choosing Pure Green
We couldn't find a named generation site on its current Pure Green page
Carbon-neutral gas is still natural gas, with offsetting funding projects elsewhere
Sustainability Comparison
Renewable Category | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Supplier-Wide Renewable Share | 100.0% (2025/26) | 15.6% (2024/25) |
Supplier-Wide CO2 Emissions | Not stated as one figure; all supply reported as renewable | 407.1g/kWh (2024/25), UK average 205.1g/kWh |
Renewable Electricity Product | REGO-backed contracts | Pure Green add-on |
Technology Named | Wind (disclosure), wind, solar and hydro (SME page) | Not named on Pure Green page |
Green Gas | Biomethane, four blend levels | Carbon-neutral gas (offset) |
Offset Scheme for Gas | Gold Standard or Verified Carbon Standard, on blends | Verra Verified Carbon Standard |
Winner: Crown, on the published figures. It's worth remembering that the two disclosures cover different years, and Yu's 2025/26 figures may change the picture once published.
Customer Service Comparison
Customer support can have a major impact on small businesses when problems arise. We used two independent measures: Trustpilot and the Citizens Advice non-domestic supplier table.
The Citizens Advice table ranks suppliers by weighted complaints escalated to Citizens Advice, its Extra Help Unit and Ombudsman Services: Energy, per 10,000 customers. A lower score is better. In the latest table, published in September 2026, Crown ranked 1st of 16 with a score of 0.0 for April to June 2026, after 11.2 for January to March. Yu ranked 10th, with 721.5 and 638.4 for the same quarters. The measure is per customer, so it adjusts for size, but a smaller customer base can swing more on a few cases.
Crown Support
Channels include:
Phone and email, with a Greater Manchester-based support team
Online chat, which several recent reviewers mention
My Account portal with usage graphs, invoices, contract details and extra users
An in-house siteworks team for meter and connection work
Strengths
A Trustpilot rating of 4.9 out of 5 from 226 reviews, with 93% five-star, as of September 2026
Trustpilot shows Crown replied to 100% of negative reviews
Recent reviewers regularly name individual staff for quick fixes
Ranked 1st in the Citizens Advice non-domestic table
Weaknesses
A much smaller review base than Yu's
Trustpilot's summary notes some payment tracking errors and estimated bills despite smart meters
One reviewer described being placed on deemed rates after a problem switch and needing to push for the agreed price
Yu Support
Channels include:
Phone, live chat and WhatsApp, plus an online contact form
My Account portal for bills, readings and payments
Strengths
Positive reviewers praise named advisers and smart meter engineers
One supplier for gas, electricity and water
Weaknesses
A Trustpilot rating of 3.7 out of 5 from 7,485 reviews, with 25% one-star, and 43rd of 43 in Trustpilot's energy supplier category as of September 2026
Reviews describe long phone waits, disputed bills and problems after closing an account
Ranked 10th of 16 in the Citizens Advice non-domestic table
Customer Service Scorecard
Area | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Trustpilot Rating | 4.9 out of 5 | 3.7 out of 5 |
Trustpilot Review Volume | 226 | 7,485 |
Citizens Advice Non-Domestic Rank | 1st of 16 | 10th of 16 |
Live Chat | Yes, per recent reviews | Yes, plus WhatsApp |
Online Account | My Account portal | My Account portal |
Industry Award | Energy Supplier of the Year 2024 (Crown's own site) | None found |
In our experience, billing accuracy after a switch is the issue worth weighing most heavily. When we speak to business owners who've had a poor run with a supplier, disputed balances and slow answers come up far more often than the unit rate. Trustpilot notes that Yu invites customers to review, while Crown had no recent history of doing so, so read the latest month of reviews for both before you sign.
How Do Smart Meters and Tech Compare?
Crown Technology Solutions
Automated meter reading (AMR) installation arranged through your welcome pack
My Account portal with monthly and annual usage, invoices and documents
In-house siteworks for new meters, service alterations, disconnections, EV charging and solar installation
Ideal For:
Businesses that want meter and connection work handled by the supplier's own team
Yu Technology Solutions
Free SMETS2 smart meter installation for eligible small businesses through its own installer, Yü Smart
Yü Analytics and a free Energy Health Check, which benchmark your usage against similar businesses
EV charge point installation
Ideal For:
Businesses that want usage benchmarking alongside a multi-utility contract
Technology Comparison
Feature | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Smart Meters | AMR, arranged via welcome pack | Free SMETS2, mandatory on many plans |
Usage Tracking | My Account portal | My Account, Yü Analytics |
In-House Meter Installation | Yes, siteworks team | Yes, Yü Smart |
EV Charging | Yes | Yes |
Solar Installation | Yes | Not found |
Winner: Draw. Crown for connection and siteworks, Yu for analytics and benchmarking. When we looked into Yu's smart meter terms, the £120 (inc VAT) monthly Smart Default Charge is the detail to act on early.
Business Energy Charges
Additional fees can apply with both suppliers, and Yu publishes far more of them.
Common Charges
Fee Type | Crown | Yu |
|---|---|---|
Standing Charge | Yes, site-specific, includes admin charge | Yes, average 342.7p a day in our January 2026 data |
Exit Fee on Fixed Contracts | No fixed formula found | £420 (inc VAT) Micro Termination Fee |
Exit Fee on Flexible Rates | Out-of-contract rates apply | None on Freedom |
Smart Meter Default Charge | Not published | £120 (inc VAT) per meter point, per month |
Change of Tenancy Fee | Not found | £300 or £550 (inc VAT), by time left on contract |
BACS Payment Fee | Not found | £20 per calendar month |
Out-of-Contract Rates | Yes, published monthly | Freedom rates |
Key Consideration
Avoid rolling onto out-of-contract or deemed rates, whichever supplier you choose. Crown's own rate sheet says its out-of-contract rates apply until you sign a new contract or switch. It's worth noting that a non-micro business with Yu can face 12 months on Extended Supply Period rates if it misses the 30-day written notice window.
Pros and Cons of Crown
Advantages
Top Citizens Advice Ranking
1st of 16 in the latest non-domestic complaints table, with a score of 0.0 for April to June 2026.
Strong Independent Reviews
4.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 226 reviews, with 93% five-star.
Fully Renewable Reported Mix
100% renewable electricity in its 2025/26 disclosure, plus a biomethane range.
Long Fixed Terms
Contracts of 12 to 60 months.
Lower Published Default Rates
Out-of-contract rates were well below Yu's Freedom rates on the sheets we checked.
Disadvantages
No Instant Online Quote
An account manager contacts you to finalise the contract.
No Water or Prepay
No retail water supply, and no prepayment product published.
Smaller Review Base
226 Trustpilot reviews, so scores move more with each new review.
Green Claims Need Confirming
Its SME page and fuel mix disclosure describe renewable supply differently.
Pros and Cons of Yu
Advantages
Multi-Utility Supply
Gas, electricity and water on one contract, with a Multi-Fuel discount.
Broad Product Range
Prepay, multi-site, half-hourly and pass-through plans.
Instant Online Quotes
Available for smaller electricity users.
Listed Parent Company
Yü Group plc has been listed on AIM since March 2016.
Disadvantages
Higher Standing Charge
An average of 342.7p a day in our January 2026 data.
Weaker Service Record
3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot and 10th of 16 in the Citizens Advice table.
Expensive Default Rates
Freedom electricity was 63.98p per kWh in August 2026.
Stricter End-of-Contract Rules
Non-micro businesses can face a 12-month Extended Supply Period.
Low Renewable Share by Default
Standard products were 0.3% renewable in 2024/25.
Which Supplier is Better for Which Business Types?
Business Type | Recommended | Reason |
|---|---|---|
Sole Trader or Startup | Crown | Stronger service record and lower default rates, but check its standing charge quote |
Small Office or Shop | Crown | Better complaint record, while Yu's high standing charge hurts low users |
Restaurant or Café | Crown | Biomethane blends and in-house connection work suit gas-heavy sites |
Multi-Site Retail or Hospitality | Yu | Multi-Site Fix gives one electricity rate across sites |
Business Wanting Water and Energy Together | Yu | Multi-Fuel Fix bundles utilities |
Manufacturer or Large Consumer | Yu | Half-Hourly Fix and Pass-Through plans |
Business Reporting Scope 2 Emissions | Crown | 100% renewable reported mix, though confirm the technology in writing |
Business Wanting Pay-As-You-Go | Yu | Pre-Pay plan |
Business Wanting the Longest Fixed Term | Crown | Contracts of up to 60 months |
Crown vs Yu: Side-by-Side
Category | Winner |
|---|---|
Product Range | Yu |
Fixed Contract Length | Crown |
Published Default Rates | Crown |
Online Quote | Yu |
Supplier-Wide Renewable Share | Crown |
Green Gas Options | Crown |
Independent Review Score | Crown |
Citizens Advice Ranking | Crown |
Multi-Utility Supply | Yu |
Large and Half-Hourly Sites | Yu |
Key Questions to Ask Before Deciding
Before signing a business energy contract, compare:
Does the supplier serve your business size?
What is the standing charge, and how does it affect your total annual cost?
Is the price fully fixed, or can charges like TNUoS change during the contract?
Is renewable electricity included, and which technologies back it?
What is the exit fee, and how is it calculated?
What happens at contract end, and what rate will you move onto?
How long will smart meter installation take, and what happens if you don't book it?
Is there any commission built into your rates if you use a broker?
Will your complaint go through the Energy Ombudsman?
What do the last 30 days of independent reviews say?
Crown vs Yu FAQs
Is Crown or Yu cheaper for business energy?
Neither is cheaper across the board. Both price each fixed contract by postcode, usage, meter type, contract length and credit profile, and neither publishes fixed rates. Yu's standing charge is high, so it tends to suit higher-usage sites. The only reliable comparison is live quotes for your own site.
Does Crown supply electricity as well as gas?
Yes. Crown started as a gas supplier and now offers fixed electricity contracts for half-hourly and non-half-hourly meters, including optional REGO-backed renewable supply.
Does Yu supply business water?
Yes. Yu supplies business water alongside gas and electricity, and bundling two or more utilities qualifies for its Multi-Fuel discount. Crown's site lists water connections, not retail water supply.
Which has better customer service, Crown or Yu?
Crown, on both independent measures we checked. It has a 4.9 out of 5 Trustpilot rating and ranked 1st in the Citizens Advice non-domestic table, while Yu has 3.7 out of 5 and ranked 10th.
Do Crown and Yu charge exit fees?
Yu does on fixed contracts, with a £420 (inc VAT) Micro Termination Fee, and none on Freedom. We couldn't find a published exit-fee formula for Crown. Ask either supplier for the exact early exit terms in writing before you sign.
What happens when my Crown or Yu contract ends?
Crown moves you onto out-of-contract rates, which reset monthly, until you sign or switch. Yu moves micro businesses onto Freedom rates, and non-micro businesses that haven't given 30 days' written notice can move onto a 12-month Extended Supply Period.
Is Crown's electricity 100% renewable?
Yes. Its 2025/26 fuel mix disclosure says so, reporting 100% renewable electricity from wind. Its SME page describes renewable contracts as optional, so confirm in writing what backs your contract.
Can big companies use Crown or Yu?
Yes, both. Crown's SME contracts cover up to 500,000 kWh a year, and it quotes bespoke above that. Yu's SME plans cover the same range, with half-hourly and pass-through plans above it.
Alternatives to Crown and Yu
If you want to see how Crown compares with a digital-first supplier, our Octopus vs Crown comparison covers that trade-off.
If you want more detail on Yu before comparing, read our Yu Energy review.
If you're weighing Yu against a smaller specialist, our Valda vs Yu comparison looks at two independents built around small businesses.
Verdict: Crown or Yu?
Choose Crown if you want:
The strongest independent service record of the two
A fixed term of up to 60 months
A fully renewable reported electricity mix and a graduated biomethane range
Lower published out-of-contract rates as a safety net
Choose Yu if you want:
Gas, electricity and water on one contract
Multi-site, half-hourly or pass-through plans
An instant online quote for smaller electricity users
A listed parent company behind your supplier
For most businesses using up to 500,000 kWh a year, Crown is the more rounded choice. It has a better complaints record, a cleaner reported fuel mix and gentler default rates. Yu's case rests on product breadth and multi-utility supply, and it's a stronger fit for larger and multi-site users than for a low-usage shop or office.
When we speak to business owners weighing these two up, the decision usually comes down to fuel type and size first, and service second. Our advice is to get a live quote from each, compare the total annual cost rather than the unit rate, and diary your contract end date on the day you sign. Our business energy comparison tool can help you set either quote against the wider market.